Thursday, 29 Jul 2021

Boris Johnson: When did Boris Johnson become Prime Minister?

Prime Minister Boris Johnson is currently in intensive care due to a worsening of his coronavirus symptoms. While the PM is in hospital, Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has been asked to deputise on his behalf.

Leading today’s coronavirus press briefing (April 8), Chancellor Rishi Sunak gave an update on the Prime Minister’s health.

Mr Sunak said Mr Johnson remains in intensive care at St Thomas’ Hospital in London, but he is “improving”.

The PM, who was diagnosed with coronavirus on March 26, has been sitting up in bed and engaging with his clinical team.

Mr Raab said earlier this week Mr Johnson is a “fighter”, who will be back to lead the country through this pandemic when he is fit and well.


  • Tory MPs break down in ‘’tears as Boris Johnson recovers

When did Boris Johnson become Prime Minister?

Boris Johnson was elected MP for Uxbridge and South Ruislip in the 2015 general election.

Prior to this, Mr Johnson held posts as Mayor of London between 2008 and 2016, and as MP for Henley between 2001 and 2008.

Under the Government of Theresa May, Mr Johnson also held the office of Foreign Secretary between 2016 and 2018.

Boris Johnson succeeded Theresa May as the UK’s Prime Minister on July 24, 2019.

On May 24, 2019, Theresa May had announced her resignation after her proposed EU Withdrawal Agreement was voted down multiple times in Parliament.

Mrs May led a minority Government after the 2017 election, and could not secure the backing of MPs to pass the legislation through.

Following Mrs May’s resignation, the Conservative Party started the process of electing a new leader.


Boris stable but Number 10 refuse to comment on ‘temperature drop’ [INSIGHT]
BBC’s Laura Kuenssberg warns of ‘Cabinet coup’ while Boris absent [INSIGHT]
Boris Johnson: Are Boris Johnson and Dominic Raab friends? [ANALYSIS]


  • ‘Who is in charge?’ Piers Morgan lashes out at Government over crisis

Mr Johnson beat fellow leadership rival Jeremy Hunt to become the next leader of the Conservative Party and Prime Minister.

Other MPs in the running for the top job included Michael Gove, Dominic Raab, Sajid Javid, Matt Hancock and Andrea Leadsome.

After becoming leader, Mr Johnson won the backing of MPs to call a snap general election.

The general election was held on December 12, 2019, and Mr Johnson won a landslide victory.

To date, Mr Johnson currently leads a Conservative majority Government.

After returning from Christmas recess after the election, MPs voted overwhelmingly in favour of Mr Johnson’s Brexit agenda.

In Mr Johnson’s Cabinet, Rishi Sunak is Chancellor of the Exchequer, having replaced Sajid Javid earlier this year.

Dominic Raab is Foreign Secretary, and Priti Patel is Home Secretary.

Source: Read Full Article

Best News