Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Travellers from three more destinations must quarantine after returning to UK

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

Jamaica, Switzerland and the Czech Republic have been axed from the Government's safe to fly list, it has been announced.

Travellers from the three nations must quarantine for 14 days if they arrive in the UK after 4am on Saturday, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has said this afternoon.

Brits in the three affected countries now face a scramble to return before Saturday to avoid quarantining.

Returning tourists will be expected to remain housebound for two weeks when they land back in the UK.

Pret A Manger axes 2,800 jobs from its coffee shops in coronavirus restructure

"Only travel if you are content to unexpectedly 14-day quarantine on return.

“Quarantining on return from a non-Travel Corridor country is a legal requirement and you commit a criminal offence if you break that quarantine. Fines, as well as a criminal record can result.

“The decision on whether to add or remove a country is carefully made after research from the Joint Biosecurity Centre.

"A lead indicator is 20 cases per 100k over 7 days but they take into account a wide range of factors, including level, rate & speed of change in confirmed cases.”

It comes after Switzerland saw its seven day case rate rise to 21.7% per 100,000 residents.

Jamaica has reported a rate of 20.7% per 100,000 and the Czech Republic has seen an increase to 20.1%.

  • Travel Advice
  • Coronavirus
  • Twitter

Source: Read Full Article

Best News